Basic Guide to Writing Mechanics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basic Guide to Writing Mechanics

On top of being a writer, I am also an editor. As the pedant that I am, I value writing mechanics quite highly (Wayne can attest to this), so I thought I might post a series of guides to some of the basic concepts of grammar, punctuation, and style. For the sake of neatness and simplicity, I ask that discussion take place using the Comment function rather than thread replies, to keep the guide as easy to read as possible.

Table of Content:

Introduction: Terminology

Part One: Grammar Part Two: Punctuation
    Last edited by Thorn Wilde; 08-21-2020, 12:45 PM.

Introduction: Terminology

First, I must warn you that I’m going to approach this guide as if you know nothing. Some of it is very elementary, and if you’ve had adequate education and remember that education, you may find it boring. Feel free to skip past anything you feel you already know. The most basic concepts, which I expect even those of you whose teachers mostly neglected you to know, I will only address in brief. But if you have any questions about them, you are welcome to ask in the comments and I’ll think no less of you for it. I will, however, think a lot less of those responsible for your primary and secondary English education.

Grammar contains a lot of terminology that you don’t normally use anywhere else. You have the word classes, such as noun, verb, adjective, adverb, pronoun, article, preposition, and conjunction, which you are probably at least vaguely familiar with. I will go over all these later in the guide. I’ll try to go easy on other terminology, but there are a few words that are needed in order to understand grammar in the first place, so here is a brief glossary of some grammar terminology I think you should know, if you don’t already.